Transcript of Bell Customer Service Chat


This really happened. I just copied and pasted the transcript from the chat session from the Bell website.

Transcript of Bell Customer Service Chat, April 3, 2011

A chat representative will be with you in about 1 minute(s). Thank you for waiting.

Chat representative Whitney has joined the session and is ready to help. To start, please provide your name and home phone number.

I have some questions about small business wireless.

Whitney: May I know which services you currently have with Bell?

None, we are in a co-location building and only have control over our mobile phones which is currently with another company but they do not carry the phones we want.

Whitney: I can help you with phones and nice contracts.

Whitney: Is that fine with you?

That’s the idea, I’ll need to take the information back with me for discussion, but if I can get some facts that would be great.

Whitney: I regret to inform you that Bell offers service to residential customers and not business customers.

Then what is the Bell Small Business about on the Bell website?

Whitney: Please stay online while I confirm this information with my supervisor.

OK thanks, I would go to the businessonthego.ca website but it is not working. That’s why I am here.

Whitney: Please click here http://www.bell.ca/shop/Sb_Landing.page to get the details for your information.

Whitney: Is there anything else I can help you with today?

The problem with your link is clicking on “mobile” when you get there goes to a dead web page, try it.

Whitney: The site I have send to you is working and active.

Whitney: Please open a new window and try this site again.

Yes, but when you get there, click on “mobile” does that work for you? I have tried on two different computers here, it does not work.

I get http://businessonthego.ca/english/home.asp = Bad Request (Invalid Hostname)

Whitney: I regret to inform you that this may be a temporary technical fault.

Whitney: I request you to try after some time or visit a Bell store.

Whitney: Would that work for you?

OK, well, I’m afraid Bell gets an “F” for this customer service experience, since neither the chat or the website can give me the information I need.

Whitney: Is there anything else I can help you with?

[That was the end. In my head of course I had many different answers such as “No, your inability to help me today has been made profoundly clear.”

About Keenan Wellar

I'm a citizen of Ottawa (Ontario, Canada) and co-leader of local social change charitable organization LiveWorkPlay.ca which supports a good life for people with intellectual disabilities. I'm a very active user of social media. Find me on Facebook http://fb.me/kwellar on Twitter @SocialKeenan on LinkedIn http://tiny.cc/keenanw. I also manage organizational accounts http://fb.me/liveworkplayfans and @LiveWorkPlay. I make a lot of connections locally and worldwide with people who share my belief in inclusive communities, but I also talk sports, food, and travel, and there are few topics that offend me, so please don't be shy.
This entry was posted in bell, ottawa and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Transcript of Bell Customer Service Chat

  1. Elaine C. says:

    Figures. I won’t go back with Bell Mobility ever again because of what they put me through several years ago. I won’t go with their other services because I hate them and Rogers for being the big whining, money-sucking companies that they are. Telus is getting there but they’re still better to deal with than Bell or Rogers, IMO.

  2. keenanwellar says:

    Hi Elaine, one of the issues I have is the lack of availability of products – there are very few Android phones availabile in Canada.

Leave a Reply

