LinkedIn Fun!


Whether you have joined LinkedIn or not, you might find my blog title a bit odd. Isn’t LinkedIn sort of like the social media network designed for not having fun? Well, although it doesn’t boast any games where you can build a virtual farm like you can on Facebook, doesn’t feature 200,000 videos of cute kittens playing in boxes like on YouTube, and doesn’t tend to trend #Beyonce like Twitter, it is enjoying steady growth in membership, and looking at the business case it is arguably the strongest model out there.

LinkedIn EndorsementsFor my role as co-leader of LiveWorkPlay as well as volunteer efforts with United Way Ottawa and others, LinkedIn is also becoming a favored place for me to connect with others in my field (worldwide) and for developing local partnerships. Other members of the LiveWorkPlay staff team and especially our Manager of Employment Supports are finding that LinkedIn is an increasingly useful tool for reaching out to individuals and organizations to make the business case for the employment of people with intellectual disabilities.

But it’s not all work and no play.

It is no doubt an unintended consequence, but LinkedIn endorsements have become a source of both interest and amusement for many. While it is good advice to not let any recommendation go to your head – especially one that is based on nothing but a click – it’s still useful to me to see what type of endorsements I am receiving (I do not ask for them, these have all been given through the free will of others).

As you can see from the graphic below, I have now received more than 1000 endorsements (which is very cool, I remain fascinated with odometer-style milestones) and the somewhat generic “nonprofit” and “non-profits” are at the top of the list which certainly makes sense, as do the various categories related to communications.

On the funny side, how did I get four endorsements for laughter yoga? I tried this once and believe me, I don’t deserve an endorsement. Opinions are split on the practice. I don’t think there could be anything worse than having laughter yoga gurus angry with me, so here’s an article if you want to learn more about it. If you’ve spent any time in the LiveWorkPlay work environment, you’d know we aren’t much in need of a laughter coach. Usually there’s a need for an announcement that a guest is coming so we need to stop laughing (we do a lot of very serious work and we long ago learned to balance the tears with laughter).

I also received 2 endorsements each for Humor and Jokes, and 5 endorsements for Irreverence. I admit, I did make a direct ask for those. It’s the one exception (and now the second exception, see below) to my “don’t ask” rule.

In the continuing spirit of making LinkedIn more fun, I would like to take this opportunity to make a new request. Earlier today, after responding to a call for feedback on a document sent to me by an umbrella agency in my sector (and after I pointed out that my concerns were being whitewashed) I was told that “You have much to contribute, even if it comes across as impertinent at times.”

Under the circumstances, I decided to take this as a compliment, so if you are on LinkedIn, or if you would like to join up, find me, and see what it’s all about, I invite you to please endorse me for Impertinence In The Face Of Injustice.

LinkedIn Endorsements

About Keenan Wellar

I'm a citizen of Ottawa (Ontario, Canada) and co-leader of local social change charitable organization LiveWorkPlay.ca which supports a good life for people with intellectual disabilities. I'm a very active user of social media. Find me on Facebook http://fb.me/kwellar on Twitter @SocialKeenan on LinkedIn http://tiny.cc/keenanw. I also manage organizational accounts http://fb.me/liveworkplayfans and @LiveWorkPlay. I make a lot of connections locally and worldwide with people who share my belief in inclusive communities, but I also talk sports, food, and travel, and there are few topics that offend me, so please don't be shy.
This entry was posted in linkedin, social media and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

