Book release: The Courage to Fail, the Will to Succeed: Twenty Years of the LiveWorkPlay Experience 1995-2015


book-wide-cover

I’m thrilled to announce the formal release of the book The Courage to Fail, the Will to Succeed: Twenty Years of the LiveWorkPlay Experience 1995-2015 (available in hardcover, magazine, PDF, and audio formats!). In words and pictures the book chronicles the history of the LiveWorkPlay organization from the days leading up to its formal incorporation to its current state as a leading-edge charity contributing to positive social change in the Ottawa area and beyond.

I’m grateful to Al Condeluci PhD for providing a meaningful foreword to the book on short notice, and also sending me a recording for the audio version. There wasn’t a lot of time for editing and I appreciate the assistance of Allison Moores among others who managed a quick turnaround on various components of the book that were thrust in their direction.

As the book hopefully communicates effectively, like just about everything that has to do with LiveWorkPlay that has my name on it, these outcomes are only made possible by the contributions of many others. From my life partner Julie Kingstone who is also my partner in Executive Staff leadership at LiveWorkPlay, to so many past and present volunteer members of the Board of Directors, to the staff team including those who have moved on, to our volunteer team now over 150 strong, and most importantly to our members – the people we serve – and their families, thank you for your trust and for the opportunity to make a meaningful contribution to this world.

It has been a tremendous 20 years and I truly believe we are at this very moment the best we have ever been and there is plenty of upside yet to be realized!

About Keenan Wellar

I'm a citizen of Ottawa (Ontario, Canada) and co-leader of local social change charitable organization LiveWorkPlay.ca which supports a good life for people with intellectual disabilities. I'm a very active user of social media. Find me on Facebook http://fb.me/kwellar on Twitter @SocialKeenan on LinkedIn http://tiny.cc/keenanw. I also manage organizational accounts http://fb.me/liveworkplayfans and @LiveWorkPlay. I make a lot of connections locally and worldwide with people who share my belief in inclusive communities, but I also talk sports, food, and travel, and there are few topics that offend me, so please don't be shy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book release: The Courage to Fail, the Will to Succeed: Twenty Years of the LiveWorkPlay Experience 1995-2015

  1. Caroline says:

    I would like to get the hard cover of liveworkplay I am sorry I won’t be there tonight I am glad I am part of Liveworkplay thanks for being part of me in my life it means lots to me!😊😊😊😊💚💚💚💚💚

Leave a Reply

