2016


This silly little app did a pretty good job of capturing some key themes from 2016 – each individual photo might not be an actual “top ten memory” but they all represent aspects of my life with others and my journey as a person. I go deeper below!

The launch photo is a very appropriate tribute to how the Grey Cup Champion RedBlacks (and Fury, this should be an interesting year!) and living at Landsdowne has become such a feature of our lives. I can’t imagine living anywhere else! Watch this video closely (about 20 seconds in).

redblacksfb

I can’t believe this happened in 2016, it seems so long ago. The Algonquin College Public Relations students hosted a series of events through their Dreams Worth Living campaign and raised over $25,000 for LiveWorkPlay. Their energy was contagious!  There’s probably a Dreams Worth Living metaphor about the wonderful lady I’m standing with there.

year1

The Dow Honda, Kanata Honda, Star Motors golf tournament for LiveWorkPlay. My usual insistence on a unique photo caught my teammates in a not quite ready position.

year2

This also feels like ancient history, perhaps because the experience was a bit of a blur at at momondays Ottawa back in August. There are different opportunities in life and you have to try them out to see if they might be for you. The motivational speaking circuit is definitely not my thing, but I was grateful for the chance to try it out. I will definitely continue to do public speaking that hopefully helps motivate people, but speaking (or listening) for the purpose of motivation itself is not for me. I do get why there is a strong community of people who can’t get enough and appreciate what they do.

year3

There’s a recent memory! Festive Family Feast 2016. This is my kind of vibe. I’m very fortunate to be a part of it all.

year4

An increasingly common but highly appreciated phenomenon: visitors from out of town who just want to learn more about what LiveWorkPlay is going and how they might bring some of it back home with them. After some intense chat at the office we headed down to Landsowne to capture some local colour.

year5

What a fun night. I was exhausted as it was just about my busiest week of the year including out of town travel, but there is nothing like The Headstones at Barrymores and old friends. A night I won’t soon forget because I thought I’d somehow messed up getting the tickets (these shows are always sold out for those who don’t  know) but Dean and Sean were totally understanding, right up to the moment when we sheepishly handed over the ticket receipt to the door man, who waved us right in (turns out they don’t use tickets, they just keep a record of online purchases). Jen was in a great spot upstairs (Barrymores is an old theatre converted to a night club) but came down to the mosh pit with us for a great photo taken by a helpful stranger. Yup, 48 years old, and right in the middle of it.

year6

I sometimes get invited to events on Parliament Hill and it’s not really my world. But there are often familiar faces and I’ve learned to not worry about feeling left out. If you know 6 people in a room of 100, between reconnecting and perhaps helping with interconnecting, the time will fly by and you’ll have fun and feel good!

year7

Haha it figures this photo got in there. On a hike with Julie and Marie and I wanted to jump off this log (you can’t see it but it’s pretty high off the ground). I hurt my foot really badly when I landed. But I borrowed a page from my father in law and it did indeed go away about 9 weeks later.

year9

Wow, the Ottawa Valley Tours motor coach trip to Cape Cod with my roommate Phil. It’s suitable that the photo is in a totally non-glamorous location because frankly that’s where most of the good times happened. Phil was also a huge part of this highlight moment.

year10

Yup, I liked a lot of other people’s stuff. I think the benefits of Facebook far outweigh the negatives, but I understand why it’s not for everybody. It never feels that way to me, but I can see why it is painful overwhelmingly to some.

year11

Great mix of people in this closing photo that represent how my personal and professional interests often collide. Again, this is something I find mostly positive, but I am sure others would be horrified at how my worlds collide smile emoticon

year12

Thanks for a great year! See you in 2017!

About Keenan Wellar

I'm a citizen of Ottawa (Ontario, Canada) and co-leader of local social change charitable organization LiveWorkPlay.ca which supports a good life for people with intellectual disabilities. I'm a very active user of social media. Find me on Facebook http://fb.me/kwellar on Twitter @SocialKeenan on LinkedIn http://tiny.cc/keenanw. I also manage organizational accounts http://fb.me/liveworkplayfans and @LiveWorkPlay. I make a lot of connections locally and worldwide with people who share my belief in inclusive communities, but I also talk sports, food, and travel, and there are few topics that offend me, so please don't be shy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

